Barrie Camp camp guide

Barrie Camp

A wooded-campus day camp combining swimming, creative activities and outdoor skills, with separate specialty and leadership options.

Ages 3½–14; programs use rising grades

Earlier-year details below are a planning reference, not confirmed information for the coming summer. Dates, prices and age ranges may change. We’ll update this guide as new information is published. Check the camp’s current details and available places before booking.

Ages & grades

Day camp: rising PreK–8. Lower campers must be fully toilet-trained. Rising ninth graders use the separate Leader-in-Training program. Specialty camps have narrower grade requirements.

2026 information

Location

13500 Layhill Road, Silver Spring, Maryland; a 45-acre campus.

Year not stated

Hours & extended care

Activities 9am–3:15pm, followed by dismissal activities. Arrival 8:30–9am; pickup 3:50–4:30pm. Optional care extends from 7:30am to 6pm.

2026 information

Dates & session length

June 15–August 14, 2026, including Warm Up Week. Closed June 19 and July 3. Weekly enrollment; some specialties and leadership require two weeks.

2026 information

Price

Regular day-camp tuition per week: $575 for one week, $550 with two, $525 with three, $500 with four or more. Horsemanship $650/week; Super Camps $575+/week; LIT $415/week, minimum two weeks.

2026 information

Transport & care costs

2026 weekly bus: $100 one-way or $135 round-trip. Extended care: $65 morning, $110 afternoon or $140 both. Other late-bus packages are available.

2026 information

What kids will do

Daily swimming plus rotating sports, canoeing, crafts, nature, dance and drama. Older campers can try archery and video production; specialty programs combine focused instruction with general camp.

2026 information

More practical details

Food

Bring a bagged lunch; camp refrigerates it. Bring water and snacks. Morning snacks are offered to Lower campers, and afternoon-care campers receive snacks.

2026 information

Going with a friend

Groups use rising grade. Both families should request same-grade friends when enrolling. Ask about any proposed one-grade move before relying on it.

2026 information

Changing plans

Written withdrawal by May 1, 2026 retained $100 per camper; remaining tuition/fees were refundable. Later cancellations generally were not refundable, with a documented extended-illness/injury exception.

2026 information
Sources and last checked

Last checked 2026-09-23.

Historical planning reference · 2027 details not yet verified · Published program requirements; see source years below

Ages & grades2026 reference informationProgram and grouping requirements
LocationOfficial campus information; year not specifiedCamp overview, daily routine and FAQs
Hours & extended care2026 reference informationCamp overview, daily routine and FAQs
Dates & session length2026 reference informationCamp overview, daily routine and FAQs
Price2026 reference informationTuition, transport, extended care and refunds
Food2026 reference informationCamp overview, daily routine and FAQs
What kids will do2026 reference informationProgram and grouping requirements
Going with a friend2026 reference informationProgram and grouping requirements
Transport & care costs2026 reference informationTuition, transport, extended care and refunds
Changing plans2026 reference informationTuition, transport, extended care and refunds

Questions to ask the camp

  • 2027 dates, program offerings, prices and available places.
  • Exact bus stop, allergy arrangements and individual support needs.
Save as a possibilityChoose your child in the planner. Saving does not reserve a place.