First Ascent - Summer Climbing Camp (Avondale, Chicago) camp guide

First Ascent - Summer Climbing Camp (Avondale, Chicago)

A gym with both roped climbing and bouldering.

Grades 1–4 and 5–8

Earlier-year details below are a planning reference, not confirmed information for the coming summer. Dates, prices and age ranges may change. We’ll update this guide as new information is published. Check the camp’s current details and available places before booking.

Location

3516 N. Spaulding Avenue. Free parking; roughly half a mile from Addison Blue Line.

Year not stated

Price

$490/member or $540/guest per week.

2026 information

Activities

Zipline, giant swing and outdoor space.

2026 information

More practical details

Reference schedule

June 15–August 14; Monday–Friday 8:30am–3:30pm.

2026 information

Food & gear

Bring lunch/snacks; climbing gear included.

2026 information

Groups

6:1 camper/instructor ratio.

2026 information

Grade groups

Grades 1–4 and 5–8.

2026 information

Extended care

7:30am–6pm option: $125/week.

2026 information

What to wear

Stretchy athletic clothes; knee-covering bottoms and socks recommended.

Year not stated
Sources and last checked

Last checked 2026-09-23.

2026 reference details · 2027 details not yet verified · Published grade groups; confirm rising-grade convention

LocationUndated location informationGym setting and directions
Reference schedule2026 reference; not a 2027 promiseCamp dates, tuition and campus differences
Price2026 reference; not a 2027 promiseCamp dates, tuition and campus differences
Food & gear2026 reference; not a 2027 promiseCamp dates, tuition and campus differences
Groups2026 reference; not a 2027 promiseCamp dates, tuition and campus differences
Grade groups2026 reference; not a 2027 promiseCamp dates, tuition and campus differences
Extended care2026 reference; not a 2027 promiseCamp dates, tuition and campus differences
What to wearGeneral climbing advice, not camp-specific rulesClothing recommendations and climbing formats
Activities2026 reference; not a 2027 promiseCamp dates, tuition and campus differences

Questions to ask the camp

  • 2027 dates/rates, age cutoff/rising-grade interpretation, cancellation terms, food allergy rules, friend requests and individual support.
Save as a possibilityChoose your child in the planner. Saving does not reserve a place.