Chicago Rewilding Society - Cowboy Camp (Garfield Park, Chicago) camp guide

Chicago Rewilding Society - Cowboy Camp (Garfield Park, Chicago)

Horse care, riding basics and Black cowboy history at a neighborhood nature sanctuary.

Published ages 5–11; younger-group registration label says 6–8

Details for the coming summer are still being confirmed. Dates, prices and age ranges may change. We’ll update this guide as new information is published. Check the camp’s current details and available places before booking.

Eligibility caveat

Page describes a free camp for Garfield Park children, split into younger and older groups. Confirm residency and the conflicting minimum age.

Year not stated

Hours & food

Published Monday–Friday, 10am–2pm, with lunch provided.

Year not stated

Location

Garfield Park sanctuary about 1½ blocks east of the Conservatory; obtain the exact arrival address.

Year not stated

Activities

Handling horses, horsemanship, riding and team movement activities accompany history learning.

Year not stated

More practical details

Riding limit

120-pound riding limit; provider welcomes other participation for children who cannot ride.

Year not stated

Season not confirmed

The public description does not establish current camp dates. Free tuition, eligibility and format must be reconfirmed before planning attendance.

Year not stated
Sources and last checked

Last checked 2026-09-23.

Undated program reference · current-season availability unverified · Published program requirements; see source years

Season not confirmedUndated referenceCowboy Camp format, local eligibility and riding limit

Questions to ask the camp

  • Whether camp returns in 2027, dates, precise ages/residency rules, address, helmets, allergy support and registration availability.
Save as a possibilityChoose your child in the planner. Saving does not reserve a place.